Hello Again 10th Feb

Hi There Bloggers and Bloggets (another great word, feel free to use it)

I have been a bit slow on the old up-dates, but I have labelled hundreds and hundreds of photos.

In the last update I was talking about the Superstore. I couldn’t just leave it at that.

Bulk goods canadiona super store 25th Jan (1)

You name it and you could probably buy it in bulk at the superstore.
You name it and you could probably buy it in bulk at the superstore.

Bulk goods canadiona super store 25th Jan (5)

I found a breakfast cereal called “Holy Crap”. I kid you not. I’ll let you know how it works out.

I always laugh when, in Australia, you see Easter eggs or Hot Cross buns on display basically after Boxing day. Not here, it’s valentines day. This is pitched to every age group and for the most part all types of relationships. Kids as young as 6 can purchase boxes of cards with various characters like Superman, The Hulk, Hello Kitty, Barby (there were heaps). They have about 30 cards and envelopes to a box. You can purchase little mail boxes , that even have the little flag on the side which can go up to show you have mail. “How Cute”. Of Course Amanda bought a little post box for her desk at school. You can purchase all sorts of cards ” To my Grandson/Granddaughter on “Valentines day” . There were niece, nephew , father , son, and so on absolutely huge (” To my Son on Valentines day, love Dad” not sure it quite works for me.. I guess it’s what you grow up with) .

There are whole sections devoted to Valentines day, with cutters, chocolates,patty papers, fluffy toys for kids and adults, decorations and multitudes of cakes.. I guess it beats having the shelves full of Easter eggs when we still have Christmas decorations up.

Here is Targets’ effort

Lovetacular, some marketing guru got paid for that....
“Lovetacular”,( and I thought some of my words were ridiculous)  some marketing guru got paid big bucks for that……

My first Ice  Hockey game was  with Amanda’s class. I got to ride on a “Yellow School Bus” just like you see in the movies.  I was a parent helper… Yes I was… We watched a game from one of the junior leagues. LA Junior Kings versus Notre Dame Hounds. They were the older teenagers. These games can be better than some of the major league games as there were “Scouts” out watching for some kids to sign up. This means that the players  really push themselves. There was a lot of crashing and crunching and yes one or two fights. I have seen the odd movie ( The mighty Ducks, lame I know, but I did enjoy the movie/s) and parts  of a game on Fox sports, however you cant beat the real thing.012214_0704_21stJan19.jpg

A junior league hockey game
A junior league hockey game

Following the game we caught up with other exchange teachers from Australia, and some past Canadian exchange teachers. Getting to the venue.. well I never. We bought a Garmin map thinghy, it doesn’t deserve to be called a GPS. This unit knows as much about Edmonton as I do Grrrrr. I asked for directions into town. It told me to take a left onto “Sir Winston Churchill Avenue”. I was on an overpass for goodness sake. The avenue was 10 meters below me. Maybe it thought I was in a hover car.

We did get there, however missed our dinner and settled for some Maccas. Oh well can’t have it all our own way.

Me filling up for the first time . At .94 cents per litre we can afford to do some travelling.
Me filling up for the first time . At .94 cents per litre we can afford to do some travelling.

Catch up sooner this time. I promise.

au revior ( who’s a clever boy).

2 thoughts on “Hello Again 10th Feb

  1. I love how you are discovering things like bulk buying of groceries. Been to costco yet? And I thought you said it was cold. That jacket is open in that photo… enjoy

  2. For ten days Alberta had unseasonally high temps. For about 4 days we had double digits. That’s warmer than a Goulburn Winter. We are sitting around minus 25, good snow for past 2 days and more later today. Of Course I shovelled yesterday. Yes been to Costco. We are now members. Its a little bigger than the Canberra one. Love all the stores. Had a date night at Walmart. It has it’s own Maccas, now that’s pretty big.

Leave a comment